The Four Stage Learning Cycle by David Kolb

Kolb proposed that an individual learner moves through a spiral of immediate experience which leads to observations and reflections on the experience. These reflections are then absorbed and linked with previous knowledge and translated into abstract concepts or theories, which result in new ways and actions to adjust to the experience that can be tested and explored.

Click to Enlarge

Kolb described the four stages in the cycle of experiential learning as:

  • Concrete Experience – (CE)
  • Reflective Observation – (RO)
  • Abstract Conceptualization – (AC)
  • Active Experimentation – (AE)